Book Review “Love Your Heart”

This is my first book review since middle school, so forgive me if it stinks.

The book is “Love Your Heart” by Tim McGraw and Tom Douglas and illustrated by Abigail Marble.  The story is about a little girl trying to decide what to do for the talent show, in the end she decides to help a friend in need instead of performing.  The moral of the story is to do the right thing and that your heart is more important than any talent you may have.

I was a bit surprised to see Tim McGraw listed as an author, and was admittedly apprehensive about the book.  As pure story, I did not think the book flowed well, but it got the point across.  For example, the girl never decides on a talent in the story, which is not important to the moral being taught, but might help the story make more sense.  It felt like they were on page 21 and decided “we better wrap this thing up and get to the moral.”

For what my opinion matters, my daughter (7) loves the story and has confiscated the book as hers.  If you or your child cares that a story finish up all the details neatly, then this book may not work for you, but if you just want a nice story to read before bed, this will work great.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Leave a Reply

