Book Review “Everyone Communicates, Few Connect”

This review is for the book “Everyone Communicates, Few Connect,” by John Maxwell.  The premise behind this book is that many leaders say a lot of stuff, even good stuff, but many do not connect the information to their audience so that they receive it.  The book is not just for those who speak publicly, but is also geared to those who communicate in small groups and even one on one.

I found many helpful tips and ideas in the book that I can use in life.  Like anything that points out our mistakes, there were parts that were not fun to read.  It can truly be work to connect with people at times.  The great content in this book is overshadowed at times from a couple of different things, which I will mention below.

First, the book is just too long.  The author makes his point in the first page or two of the chapter and then gives 327 examples to emphasize the point.  Some chapters were laborious to get through.

Second, the most common words in the book are “I, me, and mine.”  Not that John does not have great life experience that we can all learn from, but there is even a short section written by John’s friend that talks about how great John is.

One last point, that is not a deal breaker for me,  is that you could read this book and only be vaguely aware that the author is a christian.  Not that leadership books have to excrete Bible from every page, I just expected a book by a top Christian author/speaker/pastor to mention the Bible, God or Jesus a little bit.  This may not matter to you, and really doesn’t matter to me that much, but it definitely threw me off a bit.

All in all, I would say read this book, just not late at night (unless you have insomnia).

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

