Book Review “The Final Summit”

I had the opportunity to read The Final Summit by Andy Andrews before in order to give a review.  Here it goes.

To give a quick recap, David Ponder from The Traveler’s Gift & The Noticer is back for one last adventure.  He is summoned by Gabriel to a council to find the answer to a question to save all of Humanity from Destruction.  I won’t tell you how the council ends, but I am sure that you can guess.

The story is quite engaging, much like anything else Andrews has written.  He is quite talented and takes the time to research and have actual historical data mixed into his fictional tales. Other than the quality of the story, there is not much more good to say about this book.

I have personally met Andy Andrews and had the privilege to hear him speak twice in my church.  With this experience, I know that Andy claims to be a Christian and he has written this book under what I thought was a Christian Publisher.  However, the entire point of the story of this book is entirely contrary to Scripture and anything that h should believe as a Christian.  I will say that the supposed “fix” for humanity is not bad advice, but anyone that claims to follow Jesus should should know that the one thing everyone on earth needs to do to be saved is to Trust Jesus.  I am very disappointed that Andy wrote this book.  Also with the visit of a Biblical Character to the story, you would think that he could get that story correct.

What a waste of a great story and the effort of getting accurate details for some obscure historical people to end with a very humanist, self-actualization moral to the story.  Don’t waste your time with this one.  If I had not felt obligated to finish the book before writing the review, I would not have.  Worse is I was hoping to give this to my Mother-in-law for her birthday and now I have to buy her a present.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

