Book Review: The Grace of God

I have been hearing about Andy Stanley’s new book The Grace of God for some time.  I was very excited to finally get a copy to read for myself.  I have to say that I am a fan of Andy, Northpoint Ministries, and Mexican Food (not related).  I know several people that accuse him of growing a huge church by never using the Bible and staying an inch deep.  I was interested in reading this book to search out that accusation as well.

I was very pleased/impressed with this book.  Andy Stanley walks through the Bible pointing out the grace that God showed even in areas that we would not normally think of when we think of Grace.  There is something in this book for every person whether or not they consider themselves a Christian.  There are challenges to the church, to Christians (both new and well seasoned), and to anyone else that has ever needed grace.  The way that Andy conveys the Bible Stories seems to almost simplify them, but in a really good way.  There is not a lot of big, theological words, but he does not skip over the theology.

Grace is something we all need and almost all misunderstand.  You should read this book.  It will help you understand grace, why you need it and how you can give it.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

