Book review: The Beauty Book

This a review of The Beauty Book by Nancy Rue.

I wanted to read this book as a Dad who has a little girl not too far away from this stuff.  To be honest,  spent most of the time reading this hoping it wasn’t true and would not happen to my daughter.  However, I know that is absurd and that she will eventually grow up (against my wishes).  Along with much talking with her mother, I believe that I will encourage her to read this book.  Nancy Rue gives advice that I think most Christian parents would agree with. I especially like that she constantly tells girls to make these questions a matter of prayer and to talk to their parents and honor their answers.

It is possible that the format of the book would seem silly to a young girl, but what do I know as a stuffy old Dad?  The book does seem to make the assumption that all girls as extremely self-conscious and are being teased to some extent at school.  While i am sure that is true in far too many cases, it seemed as though the author jumped from “what people say doesn’t matter” to “how to hide parts about you others tease” a few times.  The case is clearly made, though, that God made us and we are uniquely His and we need to all be OK with that.

I will probably have my wife read this one and I am sure she will “get it” better than me.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

