Review: Trim Healthy Mama Cookbook

My wife and I recently discovered the Trim Healthy Mama (THM) way of eating recently and I was excited to get my hands on this book to help us on our journey.  The cookbook serves as a companion to their other book “The Trim Healthy Mama Plan.”  That said, the cookbook really does not give any information regarding the plan.  It jumps right into a list of uncommon ingredients that they call for in a majority of recipes and then right into the recipes themselves.  There are a ton of recipes and we have tried several.  All in All this book is OK, but was a bit of a letdown for me.

For one thing, you need to read the entire recipe and the color commentary offered by the authors before trying to cook anything.  There are often extra ingredients not listed or hints to make the food turn out better.  There are not many recipes that you can make from “normal” foods from the grocery store.  I’m not saying the food is not good, but be prepared to look online for some items if you do not have specialty grocers nearby.

I had read the previous version of THM and knew the plan pretty well and this cookbook is a huge improvement to the layout of the old one.  I do recommend upgrading if you are familiar with the plan.  Otherwise start with the Plan book first.

I received this book from “Blogging For Books” for my review.

Leave a Reply

